“Food is meant to be enjoyed to its fullest, to be an amazing experience, every single day.” By Gary Keenan

I was sixteen when I first started working as a waiter and my manger at the time, who’s name escapes me, sat me down and explained that every person that came into the restaurant was there for a reason, a celebration, business meeting, a first date, reminiscing over a lost one, or to escape their busy life for a little while.

It was my job to make sure each and every person had the most enjoyable and comfortable experience whilst dinning in the restaurant. He went on to explain the fine line between good service and over servicing, the most important thing that he taught me and will remain etched in my memory banks for life was.

“Food is meant to be enjoyed to its fullest, to be an amazing experience, every single day.”

At that given time I did not grasp the full understanding of his bold statement, as time went on and many plates served, it became very clear, that no matter what the diner was experiencing in their life when that food hit the table a brief moment of distraction took place and their focus shifted to the food on the table.  I wish I had been able to capture that moment, so every person reading this could see how true his statement was.

We are all guilty of feeding our faces with food that we simply treat as fuel for the ever fast paced life we lead. When we arrive home, we dive into the fridge to nibble on anything that keeps us going to dinner time and depending on our life situation, most of us eat because we need to eat.

I have not been part of the hospitality industry for a very long time now and when I go out to a restaurant, I people watch, from the people eating to the staff, one thing that still amazes me to this day is when that plate of food hits the table, a brief moment in time slows down as the person takes that first glance at their food and their focus shifts for just a tiny piece of time where food is enjoyed and becomes an amazing experience.

We need to take time out be it once a day where we enjoy the food we eat, its flavour, texture, and the memories it evokes and smile at how it makes you feel.

 

Leave a Reply

